Use reliable internet resources to learn more about Medicare, Medicaid, and Medi-Cal.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS): http://www.cms.hhs.gov CMS, a federal agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for health programs, including Medicare and Medicaid. This site provides links to Medicare and Medicaid manuals, outreach and education materials, research and statistics, among other tools and resources.
Center for Medicare Advocacy: http://www.medicareadvocacy.org. Staffed by attorneys, nurses, and other professionals, this website provides links to various facets of Medicare, including FAQs, Medigap, Medicare reform, Medicare Part D, and prescription drug coverage, as well as a link to information in Spanish.
National Senior Citizens Law Center: https://www.justiceinaging.org/our-work/healthcare/medicare/. The NSCLC’s website for Medicare and Medicaid issues is informative and easy to understand. It includes links to Federal Rights, Long-term Care, Medicaid, Medicare Part D, Income Security, and under Consumer Information, there are several links to Assisted Living issues.
AARP: https://www.aarp.org/health/medicare-insurance/. This website has pages devoted to Medicare and Medicaid. The website provides several links to information regarding insurance, including Medicare Basics, Picking Your Plans, Following the Rules to Medicare, and many other topics.
LawHelpCA: https://www.lawhelpca.org/issues/seniors/medicare. California's free legal resource website with extensive information on MediCare, pertaining to California residents. It provides information on topics such as Medicare rights, Medicare fraud, and filing healthcare civil rights complaints amongst many others.
California Department of Health Services: http://www.Medi-Cal.ca.gov. This site provides general Medi-Cal information, including Beneficiary Information, Forms, Medi-Cal Rates, and more.
California Medi-Cal Care Services: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/Pages/default.aspx. This useful website provides an overview of Medi-Cal and includes information regarding answer to FAQ’s, Forms, Benefits, Eligibility and Enrollment, and Brochures in English and Spanish.
The San Diego Law Library is San Diego's access point to legal information, resources, and referrals to help you. Click here for hours and partner locations or contact us at refdesk@sdlawlibrary.org or 619-531-3900.
Was this research guide helpful? Please consider giving a tax-deductible donation so we can continue to provide access to legal information.
Thank you for your support!
