LibGuides: Suing State and Local Government Agencies : Resources

Resources Available Online

Asking a Government Agency to Pay You By a Deadline
Information about claim filing requirements from California Courts.
California Government Claims Act
Text of the Government Claims Act from the California Legislative Information website.
California Public Roster
A directory from the California Secretary of State that can be used to identify officials for state and local agencies, for purpose of service of process.
Filing a Government Agency Claim Before a Lawsuit
Article from FindLaw.
Lawyer Referral Service - S.D. County Bar Association
Local lawyer referral service that can help you find a lawyer that specializes in suing government agencies, if you decide to hire a lawyer to represent you.
Statutes of Limitation
Information about the deadlines for filing government claims from California Courts.

Related Guides from San Diego Law Library

Family Law Discovery
Although written for family law cases specifically, this guide contains useful information about the discovery process that applies to other types of civil cases, including forms and templates.
Opposing a Motion
How to respond if the government agency that you are suing files a motion challenging your complaint, such as a demurrer or motion to dismiss.
Requesting Government Records
This guide discusses how to request government records that you need to prove your case through a public records request, including form letters for making the request.
Writ of Administrative Mandamus
This guide applies if you are challenging a government agency decision, such as denial of a permit or benefits, rather than suing for damages.
Service of a Summons and Complaint

Resources Available at San Diego Law Library

California Affirmative Defenses by Ann Taylor Schwing
Call Number: KFC1012 .S39, and in Westlaw
ISBN: 9780832100802
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Chapter 38 covers Immunities, including immunity of public agencies, law enforcement, fire fighters, public property, boards and commissions, schools and school boards, and judges.
California Causes of Action by James Publishing ((various roles))
Call Number: KFC1003 .C34 and in Lexis Advance
ISBN: 9781580123167
Publication Date: 2022-12-01
Chapter 18 covers Governmental Tort Liability. This resource includes sample complaints for civil rights, wrongful termination and dangerous condition of public property.
California Civil Practice - Torts (Bancroft-Whitney)
Call Number: KFC995 .C3 and Westlaw
ISBN: 9780832100062
Ch. 29 - Governmental Immunity; Ch. 30 - Government Claims Act (has sample claims); Ch. 31 - Liability of Public Agencies (has sample complaints for a variety of cases, including Liability for Acts of Employees/Contractors, Failure to Discharge Mandatory Duty, Dangerous Conditions of Public Property, Police and Correctional Activities, Fire Protection, and Medical/Hospital/Public Health.
California Forms of Pleading and Practice
Call Number: KFC1010.A65 C3 and in Lexis Advance
See Vol. 40, Chapter 464, "Public Entities & Officers: Government Claims Act." Includes complaint templates for a variety of types of cases. Volume 16, chapters 190-204 cover the discovery process.
California Government Tort Liability Practice
Call Number: KFC332 .C352 and in CEB OnLaw
Comprehensive resource on the Government Claims Act that covers claim filing requirements, as well as general principles of government agency liability.
The California Municipal Law Handbook
Call Number: KFC752 .C35 and in CEB OnLaw
Chapter 13 covers Liability and Litigation, and Chapter 2 section IV covers the California Public Records Act.
California Practice Guide - Personal Injury by Flahavan, William F.
Call Number: KFC1028.P4 F52, and in Westlaw
Ch. 2, Part 3 covers Government Entity Liability and Immunity
Handling Claims Against Government Entities
Call Number: KFC332 .C43 and in CEB OnLaw
ISBN: 0762632925
West's California Code Forms
Call Number: KFC68.W4 P7, and in Westlaw
Includes a number of complaint templates for suing government agencies, organized by the related California code sections.