Was this research guide helpful? Please consider giving a tax-deductible donation so we can continue to provide access to legal information.
Thank you for your support!
Casa Cornelia Law Center (pro bono immigration lawyers)
Catholic Charities (refugee and immigrant services)
Immigration Center for Women and Children (free and affordable legal services for immigrants in California and Nevada)
ImmigrationHelp.org (online service that provides free assistance with certain simple immigration applications such as DACA - note that there may be a cost involved for additional help)
International Rescue Committee, Inc.
Jewish Family Service of San Diego (services include immigration help, DACA, and refugee resettlement)
La Maestra Community Health Centers
Legal Aid Society of San Diego
Legal Orientation Program (ABA) (English) (Spanish)
University of San Diego Legal Clinic on Immigration
Immigration Justice Project of San Diego (pro bono legal services for immigration proceedings in San Diego)
Deportation Defense Clinic. A program that was recently approved to provide San Diego Public Defender assistance for deportation cases. Read more about the program here.
Alliance for African Assistance (immigration services and refugee resettlement assistance)
Al Otro Lado, (providing legal representation of immigrants in a variety of matters)
Human Rights First (providing asylum assistance)
Immigrant Defenders Law Center (removal defense)
Several Legal Databases available at San Diego Law Library include immigration law resources.
Westlaw (available at the Law Library and at our partner Public Libraries) includes several dozen immigration law titles, including:
The Nolo Legal Information Reference Center (available for free online) includes these immigration related titles:
The San Diego Digital Law Library, available remotely to SDLL Borrowers, includes:
See this page for more information about access to these databases.
Defending Immigrants in the Ninth Circuit: Impact of Crimes Under California and Other State Laws by 
Fiance and Marriage Visas by
The book that's helped thousands of couples live in the U.S. togetherYou're engaged or married to a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, and all you want is the right to be together in the United States. Should be simple, right? It's not. The pile of application forms can be overwhelming, the bureaucracy isn't helpful, and delays are inevitable. This book will help you succeed. Discover the fastest and best application strategy. Avoid common--and serious--mistakes. Prepare for meetings with officials. Prove your marriage is real--not a fraud. Deal with the two-year testing period for new marriages. The 11th edition covers the latest, higher income requirements, easing of Trump-era regulations that put more immigrants at risk of being denied visas as a likely "public charge," and a new COVID vaccine requirement. It also provides handy checklists and illustrative sample forms. Use this book if you are living in the United States or overseas and: your fiancé is a U.S. citizen your spouse is a U.S. citizen, or your spouse is a U.S. permanent resident. Ilona Bray began practicing immigration law because of her concern with international human rights issues. She is the author of Becoming a U.S. Citizen and U.S. Immigration Made Easy, both published by Nolo. Check out her immigration-related postings on Nolo's blog.
How to Get a Green Card by
The ultimate green card guide The U.S. immigration system is an enormous bureaucracy, so it's vital that you understand it before attempting to apply for a green card. Making a mistake can lead to delays and hassles or even ruin your chances for success. How to Get a Green Card provides everything you need to know about qualifying for permanent U.S. residence if you don't have an employer sponsoring you. Find out how to work with U.S. officials and prepare and present the right documents at the right time to get a green card through: * parents, siblings, or adult children * a U.S. spouse or fiancé * green card lotteries (diversity visa) * political asylum or refugee status * a U visa for crime victims, or * another category you might qualify for. The 16th edition covers the latest income requirements for family-based green card applicants, additions to the list of countries whose citizens may obtain Temporary Protected Status, and more.
Immigration Law and Procedure by Bender's Immigration BulletinImmigration Procedures Handbook
This sourcebook provides detailed instructions on how to prepare and present applications and petitions to the Immigration and Naturalization Service, U.S. consulates, and the Department of Labor. This new edition is extensively revised to reflect the major changes enacted by the Immigration and Reform Act of 1986.
Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook: A Comprehensive Outline and Reference Tool by
Since the release of the first edition in 1990, Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook has been the go-to legal reference on U.S. immigration law. It cuts out lengthy explanations to provide busy legal professionals with what they need and want—comprehensive, authoritative, and concise analysis of a complicated area of law.
U. S. Immigration Made Easy by
Green cards, visas, and more: What every immigrant needs to know Want to live, work, or travel in the United States? U.S. Immigration Made Easy has helped tens of thousands of people get a visa, green card, or other immigration status. You'll learn: whether you and your family qualify for a short-term visa, permanent U.S. residence, or protection from deportation how to obtain, fill out, and submit the necessary forms and documents insider strategies for dealing with bureaucratic officials, delays, and denials ways to overcome low income and other immigration barriers, and how to select the right attorney. U.S. Immigration Made Easy provides detailed descriptions of application processes and helps you avoid traps that might destroy your chances. There's also an immigration eligibility self-quiz, which helps you match your background and skills to a likely category of visa or green card. The 20th edition is completely updated to cover recent legal changes owing to the new presidential administration, as well as the latest on DACA. This book does not cover naturalization. If you're interested in U.S. citizenship, see Nolo's Becoming a U.S. Citizen.