1. Determine if you have the Correct Code Name and Secti
on
Determine the code name and section name using Deering's California Codes Annotated. Next, check the pocket part or pamphlet in the back of the code volume to see if there are any updates.
This resource will provide you with the most current version of the code, a list of all amendments to the code, the year it was passed, and the chapter number of the statute that created the code section.
NOTE: The annotated codes may include references to the California Attorney General Opinions, which may help explain legislative intent. If there is an Attorney General Opinion noted, then you can find these opinions in the catalog or online.
2. Determine the Chapter Number of the Statute and the Year it was passed
The chapter of the bill that created the specific code section and the year it was passed can be found in Deering's Annotated Codes. The information will be listed after the code section text, but before the heading "Former Sections." You will need the chapter number and year to find the bill number. For example, the chapter number and year for the California Civil Code §3439 shows, "Added by Stats. 1986, c. 383, 2," which means information can be found in the 1986 version of the Statutes and Amendments to the Codes of California, in Chapter 383, section 2.
3. Read the Final Chapter Version
Next, read the final version using the Chapter Number from Step #2. They can be found in the resources below. The Main library has the Statutes and Amendments volumes covering 2008 (the most recently published) back to 1849, and the North County branch has volumes back to 1855. There are Advance Sheets that cover up to the present at the Main and North County branches.
a. Statutes and Amendments to the Codes of California - Covers 1849 to 2008
b. West's California Session Laws (similar to the above title) - Covers 2001 to 2015 at the Main location, and 2007 to 2015 at the North County location
c. West's California Advance Legislative Service - Covers 2012 through 2019 (Use until the Library receives the California Session Laws for the particular year)
Online Resource: The Statutes and Amendments from 1849 to 2008 are available online at Archived Statutes.
4. Convert the Chapter Number into the Bill Number
The more recent annotated codes list the bill number, making this step unnecessary. This information is in the California Session Laws published in the Statues and Amendments to the Codes of California. Bill numbers will be AB #### for Assembly Bills or S#### for Senate Bills.
To find the chapter and bill number in the Statues and Amendments to the Codes:
a) For bills up to 1970, use the "Table of Laws Enacted," found in volume 1 of that year's Statutes and Amendments to the Codes, or as a separate soft-cover volume at the Main branch in the 1st floor stacks, which converts the chapter number to a bill number.
b) For bills after 1970, use the "Summary Digest," found in the last volume of that year's Statues and Amendments to the Codes, or as a separate soft-cover volume at the Main branch in the 1st floor stacks (KFC14 .C33), which will provide the bill number, a summary of the bill's text, and its effective date.
Online Resource: Some entries of the Statues and Amendments to the Codes from 1850 to 2005 and Summary Digest beginning at 1967 available online.
5. Read all versions of the bill
Read the different versions of the bill using the Bill Number found in Step #4. They are available on microfilm or microfiche. These California Legislative Bills contain all the bill versions, including additions, in italics, and deletions, in strikeout type. Before the text of each bill version, there is a Legislative Counsel's Digest, which summarizes the changes made. This resource is only available at the Main location.
6. Read the Assembly File Analysis (if available)
The Assembly File Analysis for bills from 1975-1998 is available on microfiche. This resource was prepared by the Assembly Office of Research for BOTH Senate and Assembly Bills through the 1997-1998 session. The office was closed after that date. These analyzes include information on committee actions, any proposed fiscal effect of the bill, a short digest, a summary of comments by committee consultants, and an assessment of the effect of the bill. This resources is only available at the Main location.
7. Read the Senate or Assembly Final History of the bill
The Senate Final History and Assembly Final History are located at the Main Branch, in the 1st floor stacks. These histories are complied in the Final Calendar of Legislative Business up to the 1973-1974 session, thereafter in the Senate or Assembly Final History. These resources provide all the actions taken on each bill during that legislative session, including a history of the bill with an indication of amendments and lists any committees that studied the bill.
Online Resource: The Assembly and Senate Final Histories from 1881 to 2013 are available online at Histories and Indexes
8. Check the Journal of the Assembly or Senate
The Journal of the Assembly and the Journal of the Senate, are available at the Main Branch, in the 1st floor stacks. The Journals provide comprehensive coverage of the proceedings of the Senate and Assembly, including: committee and floor roll call votes, but not the text of the floor debate; Governor's veto messages; legislators letter of intent; Legislative Counsel's Opinions if printed; and can also sometimes provide the committees involved with a particular bill.
The journal Index is usually in the last volume of the Journal for a specific year, or if no index exists, look at the Final History or Final Calendar of Legislative Business volumes listed above in Step #7. The Bill Action Index lists all the pages where a bill is named.
The Alphabetical Index or General Index lists other legislative history that may be included. Locate Legislative Counsel Opinions and Legislative Intent by bill number.
Online Resource: The Journal of the Assembly from 1849 to 2011
9. Check for any Committee Hearings or Reports
If you know the committee(s) involved in the legislation, you can search the Law Library's catalog for Committee Hearings or Reports.
To do so, search in the "author" field, using the following format:
10. Check the University of Pacific Law Review on HeinOnline (previously known as McGeorge Law Review)
This resource publishes an Annual Review of Selected Legislation. It covers 1970 to the present. It is published in January of each year. The HeinOnline database is available at all our patron computers.
11. Check the CEB Review of Selected Legislation
The CEB Review of Selected Code Legislation preceded the Annual Review published by the University of Pacific Law Review. The Main and North County branches have the reviews for 1965, 1967, 1968, and 1969. Additionally, the Main branch has a review for the year 1955.
12. Check the California Law Revision Commission Reports
This resource includes recommendations to the legislature and selected Senate and Assembly Reports on certain bills. It is located in the 1st floor stacks of the Main Branch (KFC27 .A3).
13. Check California Senate Office Research
The California Senate Office of Research website has publications from 1999 to 2019 with Senate analyses on some past legislation and ballot propositions here. Click on "Publications" to search for reports "By Policy Area."
14. Check List of Reports Prepared by State and Local Agencies
Search for agency reports required by law to be filed with the Governor or Legislature. Reports from 1989-Present are available online.
15. Check Law Review Articles, Legal Journals, and Newspapers
Law review articles may contain Information obtained by the author that is generally available to the public and/or might offer an analysis of legislative intent. You can find citations to articles in Deering's Annotated Codes.
16. Shepardize the code sections
You will want to check to see if any court cases have interpreted your code section or even overturned it. You can do this by Shepardizing the code sections using the Lexis database or with the Keycite function using Westlaw. Both are available at patron computer stations.
17. Contact the Bill's Author
For recently enacted statues, you can contact the sponsor or the committee to see if they have more information. The California Roster of Public Officials lists California's public officeholders and their contact information on The Roster.
Phone numbers can also be found in the California online telephone directory. Contact information can also be found on the Senate Roster, Committees webpage, the Offices and Caucuses webpage, or the Assemblymember Directory.